Providing    the    Resources    Needed     for    Success    in    Higher    Education



Amanda Shroyer

Montana Tech
1300 West Park
Butte, MT 59701
406.496.4878 (w)
307.899.0134 (c)

Overview | Student/Teacher Registration | Competition Guidelines & Helpful Tips | Awards & Scholarships | At the Symposium | Judges | Sponsors

2017   Intermountain   Junior   Science   &   Humanities   Symposium

Tuesday, February 28 and Wednesday, March 1, 2017 – Montana Tech, 1300 W Park Street, Butte, MT, 59701


Important   Dates

November 18, 2016 – Nominations open

December 16, 2016 – Deadline for teachers to nominate students

January 9, 2017 – Student papers, registration to attend, and travel assistance applications due

January 30, 2017 – Complete registration process

February 10, 2017 – IJSHS oral presentation selection announcement, teacher travel award announced, registration fees due, student parental forms due

February 28-March 1, 2017 – Intermountain Junior Science & Humanities Symposium

Call   for   Papers

High school students in the states of MT, ID, UT, CO, and NV are invited to submit research papers. Teachers, please nominate interested students. Eighteen (18) students will be selected to present their work in a competitive oral symposium and up to 42 others will be invited to present their work in a non-competitive poster session. Teachers of selected students may also attend and participate in symposium events.

Mission   of   the   JSHS:

The Junior Science and Humanities Symposia (JSHS) Program promotes original research and experimentation in the sciences, engineering, and mathematics at the high school level and publicly recognizes students for outstanding achievement. By connecting talented students, their teachers, and research professionals at affiliated symposia and by rewarding research excellence, JSHS aims to widen the pool of trained talent prepared to conduct research and development vital to our nation.

Montana Tech is proud to host the Intermountain Region JSHS, serving the states of MT, ID, UT, CO, and NV.